|Day Use:||Year Round|
The wayside was a gift to the state from William L. and Jenny Chamberlain in 1934 in memory of their children. Once an island in the Umpqua River, the shallow area on the north and west was filled in for sawmill and dock facilities. Jedediah Smith made the first recorded overland trip by a Euro-American, from California along the Oregon coast to Fort Vancouver in 1828, which is recognized by a marker within the park. Bolon Island was a traditional occupation site of the Native Americans. It was named in the period of Euro-American settlement for an early settler in the vicinity. Tideways was a name used by the Chamberlains for their portion of the island. To avoid confusion, the name Bolon Island Tideways was adopted.
Bolon Island Tideways State Scenic Corridor FAQ
The shoreline along the Umpqua River has been home to hundreds of Double Crested Cormorants since 1988. The birds nest close together, each building a platform of sticks in the trees. Such rookeries are usually too remote for easy viewing which makes the Bolon Island Day Use Area so unique!
No. Bolon Island is a day use area only and is free of charge.